Skip to content

THUMBNAILS! Process blog 1 0f 4

July 26, 2011



The first stage of my process involves unreadable doodles in the margins of the script that I’m working on. The next stage for me is to turn those doodles into a thumbnail that’s a bit wider than a business card, which is what you see above. Here my main concern is the design of the page and panels. I try and make them as tight as I can for their size as it saves MANY headaches down the road.

I love drawing thumbnails. I sit down with my script and turn out a full story in a day or two. After that I enlarge them to an 11×17 and embellish as best I can before they get thrown on the light box and inked.  The pic above is of 12 thumbnails for Ms. Jennie Wood’s and my project FLUTTER pages 45-56 and the 7 thumbs for a short I’m working on with Mr. Shawn Aldridge for the 215 ink Anthology due out in early 2012.

That last one on there is some medieval rough neck I got a few plans for.

Tune in next time when I turn these thumbs into ROUGHS!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. The_Wrist permalink
    September 4, 2011 9:57 pm

    Love yer art fantastic ideas too! I have a couple of questions…hope u don’t mind me asking.

    Before u start scribbling do u have reference that refer to at all when drawing? Is your art created with pen & ink not digital?

    Inspiring work! Thanks!

    • September 5, 2011 3:11 am

      I try and limit the reference I use but I do use it on cars and animals and a few other tricky things. I work with pen and ink on paper. I do some minor work with photoshop afterwards but it’s mostly traditional.

  2. November 30, 2011 11:15 pm

    Thanks for the awesome share!

Leave a Reply

