Skip to content

The Red Viper Vs. The Mountain That Rides. A 12 Page Comic

June 26, 2013

spolierred_viper_01red_viper_02red_viper_03red_viper_04red_viper_05red_viper_06red_viper_07red_viper_08red_viper_09red_viper_10red_viper_11red_viper_12 I’ve been kicking around an adaptation of this scene from A Storm Of Swords since I first read it two years ago. At first it was 3 pages then 6. I thought 10 would definitely do it. Well it turns out 12 pages was the ticket. Prince Oberyn Martell, The Red Viper of Dorne is a character who is hard not to like. Very excited to see this bit play out in Season 4 of Game of Thrones. If anyone is interested I have the original art for sale HERE!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Discsid permalink
    June 26, 2013 9:23 am

    Well done. Love your Tyrion, too. Properly misshapen.

  2. Stewart permalink
    June 26, 2013 12:52 pm

    Awesome

  3. lekforein permalink
    June 26, 2013 12:54 pm

    Well done! I love how drastic you made their size differences. My image of the mountain was always a wall of human flesh you’d have to tilt your head up to just to get an idea that what you were looking at was a person.

    • June 26, 2013 8:36 pm

      According to the books he is supposed to be over 8 feet tall and over 30 stone (which is 420+ pounds). So yeah. The dude is a freaking wall of flesh. In full plate he would be even more intimidating.

  4. Peter permalink
    June 26, 2013 2:05 pm

    Just reading it in the books was crazy intense, but this was fantastic. You captured my imagination of the scene. Well done! Will there be more?

  5. Danny permalink
    June 26, 2013 2:43 pm

    AWESOME!!!!

  6. June 26, 2013 3:26 pm

    You should be doing the Dynamite comics…not Patterson. This is AWESOME!

  7. June 26, 2013 5:00 pm

    That is bad ass.

  8. Lucas de Melo Facó permalink
    June 26, 2013 6:18 pm

    Ser Gregor “The Mountain That Rides” Clegane vs The Prince Oberyn Nymeros Martell.

    Prince Oberyn Martell talks too much. The Mountain is too big to be any man’s toy.

    My respect to The Mad Dog of House Lannister.

  9. June 26, 2013 7:00 pm

    Brilliant!

  10. June 26, 2013 8:18 pm

    Love it

  11. Jeremy permalink
    June 27, 2013 12:42 am

    So, this is amazing, I crave more.

  12. Lucas de Melo Facó permalink
    June 27, 2013 5:35 pm

    Very nice…

    My favorite bit is the look of shock and very real fear on Oberyn’s face and that he struggles in vain for his life when the Mountain grabs him right at the end. The Red Viper easily could be portrayed as an unwavering defiant caricature of vengeful wrath right up to the end and probably has been before, however this cartoonist gives us something rather different and in my opinion considerably more interesting. Their Oberyn Martell is suddenly confronted with the price he is going to have pay for the confession and vengeance for his murdered sister and realises in the last seconds of his life that he really doesn’t want to pay that price…

    …but it is already too late!

  13. ankitkumarlal permalink
    June 28, 2013 6:25 am

    Brilliant choice (re: the scene), this was undoubtedly the high point of the book for me, even more so when you find out that the Mountain is going to die, slowly….. (sadistic snicker”

  14. dakk0n permalink
    June 28, 2013 9:00 am

    nice work, sir!

    do you plan on doing other GoT events like the purple wedding?

  15. July 1, 2013 2:59 am

    Nice job, Jeff. One of my favorite battles in Game of Thrones. Keeps me on the edge of my seat and breaks my heart. Brilliant.

  16. lecreepingdeath permalink
    August 22, 2013 11:31 am

    Amazing work. Please give us more like this.

  17. Orlando permalink
    August 31, 2013 6:28 pm

    Wow! This is awesome! I loved that fight in the book, I hope they managed to portray it as good as your comic in the tv show. Congratz man! I hope you’ll do more like this

  18. Katua Lyhdyr permalink
    September 16, 2013 9:32 pm

    Amazing adaptation! I read Storm of Swords some weeks ago and since then I was wondering how it would be a comic adaptation of such an intense moment… When I read it, this was the song that came to my mind, and you bring me the oportunity to fullfil my wish! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZFcawd5Q_Y

  19. November 6, 2013 11:34 pm

    thank you very much ,very good job amazing illustrations :D!

  20. Derek Reese permalink
    March 14, 2014 8:15 am

    I stumbled on this looking for images from the upcoming GOT season. But I found it to be more than just a good palate cleanser. I read a lot of comics and the Red Viper is one of my favorite characters in the series. Pity this is his one chance in the spotlight. Yet it’s is still one of my favorite scenes. Well adapted.

  21. April 17, 2014 5:12 pm

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. April 17, 2014 5:14 pm

    Reblogged this on RINCON DE QUEENIE and commented:
    This is more than awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Víbora Vermelha versus A Montanha [em quadrinhos] | Game of Thrones BR
  2. Escenas de Game of Thrones dibujadas por Jeff McComsay | Peru Smart
  3. The Mountain and the Viper - A Web Comic - Science Fiction Fantasy Chronicles: forums
  4. ‘Game Of Thrones’ Fan Art Tackles Powerful ‘A Storm of Swords’ Battle | Geeks of Doom
  5. Wins and Losses: A Command Analysis of Tywin Lannister Conclusion: Feeding Crows | bryndenbfish

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

